Reading Round Up for November 2021

This month’s Reading Round Up offers a collection of some of the best articles I read last month, covering topics including Gen Z, anti-trans laws, and the media’s role in lynchings. Plus a list of my own written work. Get those tabs ready!

My Writing

Book list: End the Year with a Bang! New Young Adult SFF for November & December 2021

Short fiction: Must-Read Speculative Short Fiction for October 2021

Bookmail: November 10, 2021

Librarianship: Cataloguing Questions

Readalikes: You’re Wrong About

Readalikes: Maintenance Phase

Readalikes: You Are Good

Feature: “Perceiver” by E. C. Fuller

Review: Alex Brown Reviews White Smoke by Tiffany D. Jackson

Review: “Briar Girls” by Rebecca Kim Wells

Essay: Hugo Spotlight: Moving Through Trauma in Susanna Clarke’s Piranesi

Other Works

“The secret court case 50 years ago that has robbed transgender people of their rights ever since” by Patrick Strudwick for I News: “The purpose, it seems, of this blackout was to uphold the patriarchal structure underpinning the monarchy, aristocracy, and hereditary peerages – the right of inheritance by the firstborn son. Or, to use the formal term, male primogeniture. The effect was to remove the human rights of transgender people that had previously existed – and in silence.”

“For scores of years, newspapers printed hate, leading to racist terror lynchings and massacres of Black Americans” by DeNeen L. Brown for The Howard Center For Investigative Journalism: “For decades, hundreds of white-owned newspapers across the country incited the racist terror lynchings and massacres of thousands of Black Americans. In their headlines, these newspapers often promoted the brutality of white lynch mobs and chronicled the gruesome details of the lynchings. Many white reporters stood on the sidelines of Jim Crow lynchings as Black men, women, teenagers and children were hanged from trees and burned alive. White mobs often posed on courthouse lawns, grinning for photos that ran on front pages of mainstream newspapers.”

“FILE NOT FOUND: A generation that grew up with Google is forcing professors to rethink their lesson plans” by Monica Chin for The Verge: “Gradually, Garland came to the same realization that many of her fellow educators have reached in the past four years: the concept of file folders and directories, essential to previous generations’ understanding of computers, is gibberish to many modern students.”

“Whose Story Is It To Tell?” by Ijeoma Oluo: “We are social creatures. Even us introverts do not live our lives in complete solitude. When we decide to tell our story, there will always be other people in that story. The majority of the time, we cannot claim 100% ownership of a story. If we are to be ethical writers, we must consider (with some exceptions outlined a little further down below) the other people in the story.”

“The Racist Origins of US Gun Control: Laws Designed To Disarm Slaves, Freedmen, And African-Americans” by Steve Ekwall: “Before the Civil War ended, State “Slave Codes” prohibited slaves from owning guns.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s