New Young Adult Speculative Fiction for December 2021

I come bearing gifts of great reading! Here’s a comprehensive guide to young adult speculative fiction (science fiction, fantasy, horror) being published in December 2021. Up first is a short list of the books I highly recommend, followed by a long list of basically every book being published.

Get your library cards and indie bookstore pre-orders ready, y’all.

Continue reading “New Young Adult Speculative Fiction for December 2021”

Review: “Briar Girls” by Rebecca Kim Wells

Release Date: November 16, 2021
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Description

Lena has a secret: the touch of her skin can kill. Cursed by a witch before she was born, Lena has always lived in fear and isolation. But after a devastating mistake, she and her father are forced to flee to a village near the Silence, a mysterious forest with a reputation for luring people into the trees, never to be seen again…​

Until the night an enigmatic girl stumbles out of the Silence and into Lena’s sheltered world. Miranda comes from the Gather, a city in the forest brimming with magic. She is on a quest to wake a sleeping princess believed to hold the key to liberating the Gather from its tyrannical ruler—and she offers Lena a bargain. If Lena assists her on her journey, Miranda will help her break the curse.

Mesmerized by Miranda and her promise of a new life, Lena jumps at the chance. But the deeper into the Silence she goes, the more she suspects she’s been lied to—about her family’s history, her curse, and her future. As the shadows close in, Lena must choose who to trust and decide whether it’s more important to have freedom…or power.

Continue reading “Review: “Briar Girls” by Rebecca Kim Wells”

Feature: “Perceiver” by E. C. Fuller

Release Date: August 31, 2021
Series: The Perceiver Trilogy
Publisher: self-published
Genre: Young adult, Fantasy

Description

Moving to a new town was not on Hattie’s to-do list for the summer.

Her arrival in Applewood brings nothing but strange things to her doorstep. A bendable boy guards an abandoned orchard. A cactus gives her a bullet. A monster made of oil stalks those around her.

And nobody can see them but her.

When traveling consultants show up on her doorstep, a chance encounter with the boy named Jack forces them to confront the monsters and their intertwined fates. Worse yet, the lives of the people she loves now hang by a thread.

When her world collides with another, Hattie must make a choice: save herself or save her parents.

Tsava awaits.

Continue reading “Feature: “Perceiver” by E. C. Fuller”

Readalikes: You Are Good

Time for another podcast readalike! This one is inspired by You Are Good (formerly known as Why Are Dads), a great podcast about movies, feelings, and everything in between. The show is hosted by journalist Sarah Marshall and Alex Steed. It’s part of the You’re Wrong About cinematic universe, so to speak, as Sarah is also on You’re Wrong About.

If you like You Are Good, these recommended books will probably appeal to you as well.

And here’s a list of other readalikes.

Continue reading “Readalikes: You Are Good”

Readalikes: Maintenance Phase

Besides the excellent You’re Wrong About, the other podcast I got super into over the summer was Maintenance Phase. The two hosts, Michael Hobbes and Aubrey Gordon, “debunk the junk science behind health & wellness fads, and decode their cultural meaning.” They’ve taken on the body mass index, Rachel Hollis, the presidential fitness test, Weight Watchers, snake oil, even Angela Lansbury’s fitness book.

I love doing book recommendations, so I decided to put together a little readalikes list for my high school students. If you like Maintenance Phase, you’ll probably like these books, too. They talk about fatness and the sham that is diet culture. Thanks to all who replied to my twitter thread with suggestions.

Continue reading “Readalikes: Maintenance Phase”

Readalikes: You’re Wrong About

I’m a high school librarian with an obsession with the podcast You’re Wrong About. For the uninitiated, You’re Wrong About is a podcast where journalists “reconsider an event, person or phenomenon that’s been miscast in the public imagination.” Originally it was hosted by Sarah Marshall and Michael Hobbes, and they’ve covered everything from the Satanic Panic to Princess Diana to Newsies to disco, and everything in between. 

I love doing book recommendations, so I decided to put together a little readalikes list for my students. If you like You’re Wrong About, you’ll probably like these books, too. They debunk historical and cultural myths in engaging ways. Thanks to all who replied to my twitter thread with suggestions.

Continue reading “Readalikes: You’re Wrong About”

Must-Read Speculative Short Fiction for October 2021

Normally I like my October to be full of dark and stormy stories. This year I went humorous yet thoughtful, with a splash of the apocalypse for good measure. Many of these authors were new to me, and I got a kick out of getting to know them and their work. Here are my ten—no, scratch that, eleven!—favorite short science fiction, fantasy, and horror stories I read in October…

Read the rest of this spotlight at Tor.com.